More Countries Slap SA With Travel Bans Over New Variant


Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
Share on email
Share on print

Days after South African experts revealed the presence of the new Covid-19 variant – Omicron, several countries have imposed travel bans on South Africa and other African nations. The following countries have imposed travel bans on South Africa:

  • The United Kingdom (UK)
  • USA
  • Seychelles
  • Japan
  • France
  • Singapore
  • Israel
  • India
  • Germany
  • Canada
  • The Philippines
  •  The Netherlands. 

In response, the Department of International Relations and Cooperation (DIRCO) said some of the countries that imposed the travel bans did so hastily. 

Just days after news of Omicron – the new Covid-19 variant made international headlines, the World Health Organisation (WHO) slammed the vilification of South African scientists breaking the news. 

Special Envoy on Covid-19 for the WHO, David Nabarro says the global health authority is grateful for the transparency and speed of scientists sharing their research with them, but the international backlash they are receiving for it is wrong and will have negative impacts on South Africa as it’s trying to rebuild its economy.

[Picture: AF]

News Headlines

Jan 23, 2022
Thuhr Athaan


5 Hours 35 Minutes
Prayer Begins Athaan
Fajr04:20 04:23
Thuhr12:58 13:01
Asr16:42 16:45
Maghrib19:57 20:00
Isha21:29 21:32
Open chat