3-month State of Emergency declared across 10 Turkish states


[Picture: TRT World Now / Twitter]

Turkey has declared a three-month state of emergency across the 10 provinces worst affected by Monday’s deadly earthquakes.

This, as the combined death toll from Syria and Turkey has exceeded 5000. Nearly 6000 buildings have collapsed, with rescue teams still hard at work to rescue victims trapped underneath the rubble.

While most of the focus has been on relief efforts in Turkey, Syria’s hospitals and clinics continue to be inundated with injured people. The Syrian health ministry has reported extensive damage across the provinces of Aleppo, Latakia, Hama and Tartus.

The International Rescue Committee (IRC) has called for increased funding for humanitarian aid in Syria, saying medical care in the north-west was “strained beyond capacity, even before this tragedy.”


News Headlines

Scroll to Top